Alumni & Faculty

Alumni getting noticed

Sylvia Earle
Sylvia Earle is a National Geographic Society Explorer-in- Residence, founder of the Mission Blue Foundation, and was the first female chief scientist of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Earle is a pioneer in marine ecosystems research and has led more than 100 expeditions totaling more than 7,000 hours underwater, including an untethered walk on the ocean floor in 1979, which broke a record depth of 1,250 feet.

Adam Johnson
Adam Johnson wrote The Orphan Master’s Son, which won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2013. Johnson is also a winner of the Whiting Writers’ Award and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship. His previous books are a short story collection, Emporium, and a novel, Parasites Like Us. Johnson has three children and is on the faculty of Stanford University’s creative writing program.

Jamie Linden
Screenwriter Jamie Linden, best known as the writer and co-producer of We Are Marshall, graduated from Florida State in 2001 with a bachelor of science degree in media production and marketing. He wrote and co- produced Dear John and wrote and directed 10 Years. Currently he is writing and anticipated to direct The Flight Before Christmas for Paramount Pictures as well as an adaptation of the novel Noggin for LionsGate Films.

Montego Glover
Montego Glover was the 2010 Tony Award nominee for the hit musical Memphis and has a thriving career on Broadway and in theatre, television, film, and commercials. She made her Broadway debut in The Color Purple and has made numerous television appearances on The Following, Smash, Golden Boy, The Good Wife, and Law & Order, just to name a few.

Head of the Class


Roy Baumeister

As Francis Eppes Professor of Psychology and head of the department’s social psychology graduate program, Dr. Roy Baumeister has made a career of researching self and identity, emotion, social rejection, and belongingness.


Dean Falk

Hale G. Smith Professor of Anthropology, Dr. Dean Falk is one of the top experts regarding the evolution of the brain and cognition in higher primates.


Jawole Willa Jo Zollar

Choreographer, dance professor, award winner, and founding artistic director of a New York dance company, Jawole Willa Jo Zollar is widely respected nationwide for her unique, cultural dance.


Alan Marshall

Current director of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory’s pioneering Ion Cyclotron Resonance Program and chemistry professor, Dr. Alan Marshall is considered a revolutionary researcher in the field of chemical analysis.

Marcus Roberts

Marcus Roberts

Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies, Marcus Roberts is recognized as one of the foremost American jazz pianists of his generation. A Florida native who was blinded at age five from cataracts and glaucoma, Marcus is a self-taught recording artist and graduate of Florida State.